The Peter Eastway Effect

Canal RocksTook this pic last night at Canal Rocks. Was almost dark when I left and got home after 9pm. Daylight saving doesn’t help the photographer out much!! This pic has a bit of the Peter Eastway about it, just not as good!! Have a look at his work, the link is on the blog. I’m not sure if I got this one right , I was scratching for ideas to make it look better.

~ by christianfletcher on December 5, 2007.

12 Responses to “The Peter Eastway Effect”

  1. Thumbs up from me… but if possible I’d like to see the background in detail. Love the contrast of the white jetty with the blue. Nice colour combination.

    Cheers

    Matt

  2. I tried to simulate a very shallow depth of field with only a strip of sharp focus through the middle. The background was a bit weird as the shots were longish in exposure and had a bit of camera movement in them. Thanks for the comment Matt. got bitten by a mozzie taking this shot, need danger money!!!

  3. i like the way the rocks and background are really dark while the jetty thing really glows!
    How did you do that?

  4. all photoshop trickery. If you need more answers about certain techniques have a look at Better Digital magazine and Better Photoshop techniques magazine. It is all in there. It would take to long to explain by typing so have a look for them in the newsagency. The other best resourse is the net, thats where I get all my ideas. Failing that buy a book from Scott Kelby called The Adobe Photoshop CS3 book for digital photographers. Failing that wait for one of my courses to come up!!

  5. Nice photo Christian, was this one done with HDR or your normal Grad filters….! spill the beans! we also need to learn. I’d also like more of the back ground in focus….but how did you limit that to the middle of the image?

  6. Hi Nige, didn’t use HDR or my grad filters. Just took the shots when it was pretty dark. The light gets pretty even at that time. It was almost dark 5 mins after I took this pano. The image was sharp front to back but I duplicated the layer, added a gaussian blur and then rubbed away the top layer through the middle to get this look. Tried to simulate a very shallow depth of field. It doesn’t look natural but it adds an interesting effect. Peter Eastway does this better than me. Have a look at his work it is awesome. Oh and I have put you on the growing list for the first course.

  7. Nice image the water and jetty look great , not to sure if I like the background , looks a bit unnatural for me I think . Cant even tell were the image was stitched , May I ask how many shots did you do in this panorama ?

  8. it was 11 images from memory.

  9. Whack it APPA!

  10. I don’t think Peter would vote for it!! Would think I was stealing his ideas!

  11. Don’t reckon you’re stealing my ideas, but I’ll show you how to fix it up at Karijini!

  12. thanks Pete, I’ll show you how to drop peoples names on a blog to get better ranking with google, hehe
    Must use your name more often!!!

Leave a Reply

 
