I know what love is

I found true love yesterday. Yes my ipod touch arrived and I haven’t been able to keep my hands off it. Why couldn’t everything be this beautiful, ah Mr Jobs you’ve done it again. And just to let you know I have become the biggest geek in the street after walking around for an hour this morning connecting it to peoples wireless networks. Found 5 I could connect to. Some people get there kicks from surfing or playing sport, I’m just 100% white and Nerdy!!! 

~ by christianfletcher on March 27, 2008.

28 Responses to “I know what love is”

  1. Yeah, but I think deep down everybody would love a itouch.
    My cousins friends in the states, bought a iphone when it first came out, and ripped it open and made investments in the parts used to make it!
    I got to use an iphone while i was in the states last year! a lot of fun!

  2. Nerds are what make the world go round 😆 (or so we like to think)

    Shame you can’t use it to store and view RAW files from the 1D while your in the field, now that would be useful …

  3. yeah but typing this on my iPod is just too cool. Have a look at weird al’s video, white and nerdy. It is on youtube. Very funny.

  4. So will this be playing in the gallery next time we visit 😆

  5. I told ya the iPod touch was cool!!!! Its no wonder my wife never lets me borrow hers.

  6. yeah it will be loud and in ya face. My wife wants the iPhone so she will get one and I’ll just have to get one too. No sharing in this family.

  7. Guys, sorry to get back to the subject of cameras and lenses but i have been reading up on the earlier comments. What would be one step down from the Canon 40d + 50mm 1.2 lens? I can only spend about $1500. Looking at the 400d + 50mm 1.4. Is it wiser to buy an expensive lens and upgrade the camera or vice versa? Is the 1.4 good for portraits as well?

    Thanks for all your help!

    Jimmie

  8. I’m waiting for an Iphone.

  9. Dude, I just had a thought.

    You could buy these in the US from and online store, such as B&H photo, where I get all my lenses. With the aussie dollar doing so well, you would get it pretty cheap. It think its about $50 for delivery.

    You’d also pay no tax as its under $1000 australian.

  10. I think you’ll find James that the Iphones are sold in combination with a carrier in the US it is AT&T and here in AU it is Telstra I also thought about this last year when I visited the apple store in NYC and had to be almost physically restrained by the wife from going nuts with my plastic card. This year I plan on sneaking in without her knowledge 🙂

  11. yeah i was goig to get a blackberry over there last year but it was the AT&T thing that stopped that.

  12. I got a Blackberry I hate it. The minute you have one there is then an expectation that you are available 24x7x365.

  13. Wait for the new Sony Ericsson XPERIA which will also utilise the new next G network, should be a neat package. http://www.sonyericsson.com/cws/products/mobilephones/overview/x1

  14. Nice Idea James ,
    You would save around $100 on an Ipod compared to the cheapest price in Australia , I think there is restrictions with the Ipods but and they arent supposed to ship them outside America . Worth a try but

  15. Christian mate, when I stitch an image in PTGui it comes out with a good file size, ie last night pic is a four image stitch at 8bits, and it came out at 150mb. after saving it in photoshop, its down to 60mb. what am I doing wrong? (still cant use 16bit, but CS2 is on it;s way, and might be able to get CS3 soon)

  16. Yeah I meant the ipod, not the iphone, they are about 800 australian here on the internet and then you have pay for them to be unlocked.

    I would like to order one, but my wife says no.;)

  17. I saw you recommended the canon 40d with either the 50mm 1.2 or the 1.4. Can’t afford the 1.2 so my question is if the 1.4 is good for both portraits and stitching (together with the 40d)?

    Jennifer, Cairns

  18. Hi Christian, took a trip down to Dunsborough from Perth on good friday too take photos didn expect that many people on the beaches haha so went to Sugarload Rock, first time in Dunsborough has some very nice beaches! got back at 11pm lol twas a long day. Was looking out for your van didnt see you haha.

  19. Dylan that is a new one to me. I know that you can stitch and open the image with all the layers unflattened. This may be the problem. Are you saving them in pt GUI unflattened?

  20. jennifer I have used the 1.4 and it was still excellent for the price. It would be worthwhile getting it. Have a look on flicks you will see lots of images taken with this lens. Cheers

  21. I try to stay low over Easter Will, that’s why you wouldn’t see me. Was working in the gallery on Monday, that’s as close to town as I got.

  22. Some have been flattened some havent been. Matt thinks its because I need a newer version of PS. So I’ll try my next image in CS2 and see how it goes.
    cheers

  23. Dylan, you’re using a mac aren’t you. Save them as a tiff to the desktop from ptgui then open them in photoshop and see how that goes , shouldn’t be anything to do with the version of PS.

  24. christian, when you crop your master image (if you do..?) what settings do you use?
    cheers

  25. Merv my computer is a mac, but all the programs i have are for a pc, so all my work is still being done on the old computer.

  26. Hi Dylan when I crop the image that comes out of pt gui I go into image size dialog box and find out the widest length. I then divide this by three and crop to that size at 250 dpi. Hope that makes sense.

  27. jimmy I would buy a better lens first but the 50mm f1.2 will set you back $2000 alone . I think the 400d and the f1.4 would still be pretty good but in the end you get what you pay for. My first lens and body cost me $1500 17 years ago. I soon discovered that it wasn’t up to scratch if I wanted to be a pro. In the end it was a waste of money. Camera gear is expensive, always extend yourself if you can, you will not regret it. If the worst comes to the worst you can sell good gear easily and get a good portion of your money back. The 50mm f1.2 is one of the best portrait lenses I have ever used. I absolutely love it.

    good luck mate.

  28. cheers christian.
    I’m sure there will be plenty more questions as I start getting used to new software!

Leave a Reply

 
