Shark Attack!

This is a pic I took late last week at Mitchell Rocks. This kid was playing in the water and playing with death, his mum was watching but the surf was huge. I would have been a little concerned if it was my child. Anyway it is a 9 image stitch. The big question……….keep the kid or get rid of him?? Let me know what you think. When I say get rid of him, I don’t mean in a wooden box underbelly style, just a bit of photoshop stamping!! (for all you stalkers out there!)

~ by christianfletcher on April 23, 2008.

31 Responses to “Shark Attack!”

  1. chop. Unless you’re the parent and want the photo for historical/medical/family reasons. Love the colour in the cloud – in Sydney we have that all the time but the cloud isn’t natural, nor nice to breathe….. Road trip to the country needed to recharge! Bring on ANZAC Day !

  2. Looks very surreal Christian even with the kid in the pic, but I would rather if it was to hang on my wall that it was a loved one in the pic and not some random kid, so I’d loose the kid.

  3. I reckon you should leave him there, it adds to the mystery of the scene, I love the drama of it, the colours are beautiful, its an image that makes you think…..

  4. I personally would cut the kid out as well even thought its a stunning picture with him in it , but if it was handing on my wall i would prefer not to have the kid in the shot

  5. I reckon add it and call the scene ‘Dreamtime’

  6. Hmmm I would keep the boy in the piccie, but maybe do one of each, one with the boy and one without and see which one you like best. After all it is your work and you should get the final say!!

  7. Dump the kid, he’s not doing anything interesting enough šŸ™‚

    If he was doing something more interesting I might be tempted to leave him in, but as is he doesn’t really add that much in my opinion.

  8. Could you add a shark maybe? That would increase interest in the kid! šŸ˜€

    The kid does provide some sort of balance in the photo but as I generally don’t like people in landscapes I’d love to see a version without the kid.

    Btw I am such a big fan of your post processing style, the whole picture just has a super classy look about it, great tones and colours, clouds are outstanding and great painting with light (I just ordered a wacom!)

  9. Love the feel of the shot. I think the shot has been composed for the kid, he is the anchor in the composition. Remove him and your eye wanders left to right, right to left etc. Well mine would anyway. But I’m cross eyed.

  10. Love the feel of the shot. I think the shot has been composed for the kid, he is the anchor in the composition. Remove him and your eye wanders left to right, right to left etc. Well mine would anyway. But Iā€™m cross eyed.

  11. I think the kid makes really helps the composition, but at the same time he seems small and some what insignificant.
    I think this shot is amazing though! you certainly have this photography gig worked out! You should open a gallery or three! I think you would do alright! haha
    Well done!
    Oh yeah I might have to say scrap the kid…

  12. That kid never did any of you any harm so you’re a bit rough on him just wanting to dump him like that.

    if that is a longer exposure how come the kid is pretty sharp , I thought he would be jumping around in and out of the water.

    I’d leave the kid in that one and do another copy in a different shade of colour without the kid and see what it looks like.

  13. Leave him in… its different to the human less landscapes we all get. It shows solitude and the single person has impact. More than one… grab your clone tool.

  14. When a fly lands in the jam pot, what do you do….take it in or pitch it out? The kids a fly. Whats a “wacom”?

  15. Flemming sorry I forgot to mention what Wacom tablet I have, I actually can’t remember and I am at home now. All I know is it is like the 6″x4″ size and it is just too small. Get a bigger one, I keep running off the tablet. For stylising your work there is nothing better though. Still use the mouse also but the pen is pretty good for things like blending and spotting etc.

  16. Thanks for all the advice guys and girls. Unfortunately my wife said get rid of the kid!! so the little brat is being removed from the planet for good. Maybe I should put him way in the background somewhere. All I know is there goes my chance to sell it to his mother!! Will send the revised pic soon.

  17. Ah, I thought the kid added a little sense of scale and extra interest but you gotta do what the wife says. I agree with Flemming Bo Jensen about your processing style – it is very classy.

    I should probably use my wacom more often. It has been sitting there for a few months gathering dust. :p

  18. Love the colours. I would ‘get rid’ of the kid. John

  19. Dont take hime away…..it would be like taking the pictures soul away. He fits perfectly into the photo………beautiful image.

  20. Christian,
    is it one row of images (portrait mode)? do you always use your 360 precision for these shots or would it be possible to do without?

    thanks mitch

  21. mitch, it is one row of portrait images. You could do it without the pano head but not as well and easily.

    I don’t know what to do now, half are saying take him out half saying leave him in. Will have to ask the girls at work, they know what sells.
    Thanks for the great input.

  22. Christian,

    A 24mm lens is selling for $1960 at PRA.

    http://www.praimaging.com.au/d167-56-ef-24mm-f14l-usm.html

    Perhaps you could sign it somewhere and call it the Christian Fletcher signature series and sell it for $3000? šŸ˜‰

  23. sweet idea Jamie, thanks for the heads up on the price.

  24. Im guessing that the 9 pics were taken with the EOS mark 2 or whatever you have but with what sort of lens? And did you have to cover up the seams in photoshop or did all the pics come out with the same white balance?

    Great colours!

    also i hope the kid in the pic isnt reading this blog…

  25. Sean I use the 1ds mark 2 and the 50mm fi.2 lens. Everything comes out sweet if you do it right. Only the water can be a problem. The kid is a tourist I think and didn’t get his or his mothers name. In fact they wouldn’t even know that he is now the famous kid no body wants !!! I should have flicked them a card, would have been one sale with the kid in the shot!!

  26. Take out the child,loose the life in the Image,Oh to be on that beach watching the child.Beautiful Potrait.

  27. Keep him, he makes a great focal point and doesn’t really look in too much danger.

  28. If you keep him in the shot I think you should put a fishing rod in his hand, put his dad next to him holding up a big fish and his mum sunbathing on the beach under a red and white beach umbrella šŸ˜€

  29. and dont forget the dog Dave….maybe the dog could have some yellow bathers in his mouth he had just ripped of the young model type woman also sunbathing too.

    Would you like your child taken out of a picture?

  30. I’d love to know what application you do these layouts in…
    Lightroom? Photoshop? Illustrator?

    isn’t bunker bay just around the corner from Mitchell rocks? I was there a week ago and got some great monochrome pics! Dunseborough is great for photography.

  31. Sean, i put these together in photoshop. Bunker Bay is near Cape Naturaliste, Mitchell Rocks is near Injidup about 20kms south of there. Yeah I have it pretty good down here.
    cheers

Leave a Reply

 
