Any one for Fish and Chips?

I had to come to Perth last week for a launch of the Canon 1ds mark 3 put on by Team Digital. It was a fun night and I got to meet some of the local pros (photographer types, not hookers!). Got up the next morning and managed a few new pics, this is one that turned out ok. The light was good for about an hour so managed to shoot this, the Monument, the Maritime museum, the harbour and Cottesloe Beach. Pretty productive. I have made a short video of how I arrived at this image and will think about making it available to one lucky person soon. This is a prelude to making some of my image processing in photoshop available for a small fee to who ever would want to see it. I have many requests for a photoshop course but I think this would be the best way to reach everyone without them leaving home or spending a fortune. This is where the real magic in an image happens. Will announce a competition soon to win this video.

~ by christianfletcher on May 20, 2008.

14 Responses to “Any one for Fish and Chips?”

  1. Nice shot mate!
    I would love to see the video!!
    Hope you got some other nice shots while you were up here.

    Cheers

  2. Hahaha I bet you announce the competition the minute I leave for the Canning Stock Route. Great pic as always.

  3. How many images is it? Its very sharp!

  4. 9 from memory Dylan.
    When are you going on the Canning Stock route Jamie?

  5. Hi Christian,

    I’m off on Thursday for two weeks. 🙂 Got the Pelican Case packed full of foam and newspaper. Got 3 batteries, umpteen memory cards, 2 x ipods, laptop with 3 x laptop batteries, the list goes on and on. Now I just need the weather to do its part.

    Jamie

  6. That’s a beautiful image, Feemantle has never looked that good before. Look forward to the video, it’s a great idea to stick a course on DVD. Courses work better when every has a computer, with a DVD we can sit at home on our own computers.:)

  7. Matthew I was planing on doing a short video on how I get each image and you will be able to download the ones that interest you. Cheaper than a whole DVD with lots of examples of how I use photoshop.

  8. Jamie, would love to be going too. Lucky bugger!

  9. Where’s the fish? Where’s the chips? Just woke up but wouldn’t mind some fish ‘n chips and all I get is some long exposure of Freo!
    Gorgeous stuff, that orange grad layer in PS works really well and making the clouds look as though they’re lit by the sun. Nice little trick, I’ll steal that for free thanks very much 😀
    But doing little videos on how each image is achieved is a great idea!

  10. Hi Christian,

    It was either this or the Gibb River Rd trip which of course is on someones horizons shortly. The hardest part about this trip has been the photography research,there is very little ‘good’ content out there.

    Jamie Paterson

  11. Jamie..don’t believe it, there is more out there to photograph than you would imagine,just gotta keep your eye’s open.

  12. christian this is a great idea of yours, I cant wait for the DVD to come out.

  13. 3 shots up on the Blog in one day 🙂
    Looks like it was a carm morning ,
    Cant wait for the DVD

  14. Another great shot, thanks for the advise on my shot too mate….. bring on those Videos!!!

Leave a Reply

 
