Landscape Discovery

At last a guest post from Peter Eastway. He asked me to share this with you guys. He paid his posting fee of $1000 and signed a legally binding contract so here it is, enjoy!!

Hi Christian

I thought you might like to know that while you’ve been galavanting up north with Australia’s wonderful red earth and golden beaches, I’ve been freezing my buns over in New Zealand.

Each time I fly into Auckland, when we pass over the western coast I look down south and marvel at this long, straight BLACK beach. And each time I tell myself I have to get down there.

As it turns out, I was giving a four day workshop just south west of Auckland and only half an hour’s drive from the very same beach.

On my first trip out there, accompanied by three New Zealander friends, I was wondering if they were having a lend of me (remembering the time we bowled underarm in cricket no doubt). There were really black clouds up north and when I mentioned them, the reply was simply, “They can get blacker than that”. And they did. Five minutes later it poured! I mean, it wasn’t just rain – it was like walking into a shower turned on full bore! With in 10 seconds we were soaked through to the skin. I didn’t have time to open my camera bag and, if I did, I reckon it would have filled up with water. It was amazing.

Anyway, after thinking about it a little more, and looking at my three Kiwi friends who were just as soaked as me, I decided they weren’t having a lend of me after all and that we just got caught out.

Was I worried about the rain? No, because I was testing out a new Phase One 645 camera – it was a lender! On the other hand, the Phase One P45+ digital back was mine… My gear needed a little time to dry out in the hotel and but then it was back to work as normal!

On the second trip, the weather was much kinder and this is when I took this shot. You’d be proud of me because I stitched about 8 frames together, shot with a 28mm wide-angle. It’s amazing how well Photoshop puts the frames together these days, but of course it helps to have the camera on a tripod and both focus and exposure set to manual.

But what really makes it is the black sand underneath the water over the beach – it’s a pretty special place and one I hope to get back to sometime. Maybe we can make it a team event – just make sure we don’t let the Kiwis know what a great place they have!

Anyway, you’ll have to tell Tony about this because it got a Gold in the NSW AIPP Professional Photography Awards – just glad the Australian judges didn’t know where it was!

Cheers

Peter

~ by christianfletcher on July 30, 2008.

9 Responses to “Landscape Discovery”

  1. Peter, so great to read a blog entry from my favourite photographer. Love your work, always a big inspiration! Any new books coming? I loved that Landscape Photography book you did for LP.

    That is an absolutely stunning image and I love the duotone treatment. I can only imagine how magical a large print of this must look. Would be very interesting to see a 100% crop to see the quality from an 8 picture stitch of 39 megapixel shots from the Phase One monster. It is also very nice to see a shot on Fletchers blog with a straight horizon for a change heh πŸ˜€

  2. thats it Flemming your off the Christmas list πŸ™‚

  3. Nice work pete. Looks like we’ll be going through a “Black and White” phase down at the gallery. Christian just cant help himself.

  4. B&W is where its at!
    Love this shot Peter! I would love to make to NZ someday!
    When we gonna see a Peter Eastway blog?

  5. . Nice picture by Peter there
    New Zealand would be great to shot some much over there , still planning my trip over there for next year πŸ™‚

  6. Great shot Peter, it’s always good to hear a story behind an image, it creates a real connection to it.

    I can just imagine you and your Kiwi buddies standing on the sand drenched from head to foot looking at those two mountains and cursing the weather.

    Lucky you had someone else’s really expensive camera not your own …

    Glad to see Christian finally bribed you into posting πŸ™‚

  7. Thanks for the positive comments – I think Christian deletes the bad ones anyway! Have a coupe of books and blogs and stuff in production, but the Better Photography and Better Photoshop magazines keep me pretty busy, so they are a little way off just yet. In the meantime, if I can afford Christian’s fees, I’ll post one or two here – this one only took me 6 months to do!
    Cheers

  8. A Great image Peter, Ive been to Naipier which is on the southern end of the North Island and that has black pebble beaches, with the blue of the ocean turning turquise closer to the beach. that would have made a fantastic shot as well.
    Im missing those mags here in South Africa, will have to subscribe to them, they really do inspire us beginners.
    Just wait until I grow up. sorry CF you will have to stand in line now…..!

  9. Love seeing kiwi shots! I used to live near that beach before I had a camera attached to my arm. So great to see it appreciated and captured with such finesse. Ive been back to NZ twice in the past 2 years & have used 95% of my website to cover it. A photographers dream and easier as I dont have to contend with Christian who is in my own back yard these days.

Leave a Reply

 
