Times up

Saw this old tractor when I was doing the shoot for Fraser Gallop Winery. Thought it would make a good subject. Just needed the time to go back. I don’t mind this shot. Sky was a bit of a problem so I had to blur it a bit. Didn’t stitch together well as the exposures were so long, at least 30 seconds each from memory, maybe longer.

~ by christianfletcher on October 13, 2008.

15 Responses to “Times up”

  1. YEP….a winner,thats more my thing.

    I don’t want to sound too old here (I’m not that old) but I was bought up on those tractors. They had a 3 speed box with a high and a low and a hand operated clutch, bit of a pig of a thing to steer as well.

  2. Ah… good ol stereotypical CF editing. Great shot.

    Christian do you just use a feathered lasso and levels to darken out the detail you don’t want? otherwise how else do you brighten the center and keep the trees black so well?
    or do i have to come to a course to find out…

  3. Love it, love it, pure nostalgia takes me right back to my childhood as well! You’re not too bad at this painting with light thing!

  4. Stunning work Christian love the processing with this image

  5. yeah, I got one right for Merv, I knew a tractor would do it. It is a classic and when I drove past couldn’t believe my luck. These are the sorts of things that I love to shoot. It’s old looking now so imagine in another 50 years. Thats if we are still on the planet!!!

    Sean are you saying my stuff is predictable?? That is my style showing through mate. As for the tip, save your money and come to a course. You need to do the time mate, and as an old politician said once “life wasn’t meant to be easy”.

    Thanks Flemming, lets keep the painting with light secrets to ourselves, don’t want to give young Staky any tips!! πŸ™‚

  6. thanks Kirk, I do seem to be doing the same things to my images these days, as Staky pointed out.

  7. Incredible image Christian, absolutely love it!!!

  8. I,m with Merv on this one Christian, Looks bloody FANTASTIC. I to learnt to drive tractors on the s70 ( super seventy ) Hot and dusty as i recall . There weren,t grape vines in background when I drove it though.
    cheers Pete.

  9. That tractor is very cool.Wish there was ones like this on every corner when you go for those farm drives.

  10. Fletch I’ve got heaps of pictures of that sort of thing ,but they just don’t quite look like that. I really should try a bit harder to turn them into something…hell it can’t be that hard!!!!

  11. Sorry to burst your bubble, but this one doesn’t do it for me….
    The sky is a bit of a drainer in this image for me. I don’t know really… sorry mate!

  12. nice scene Christian.
    is that all sky reflection in the tractor window?? looks amazing!!

  13. “doing the time” shouldn’t be hard cause i’m getting a job at CAMERAHOUSE!!! WooT!

  14. Thanks Damien
    Pete, I bet you could drive a tractor way better than Merv!
    Mel I think there are probably more out there than we know tucked away in paddocks all around Australia.
    Merv it is very easy, come to another of my courses and I’ll show ya. p.s. got some free wine this time!!
    Dylan your off the christmas list! πŸ™‚
    Yes it is Stephen , the glass was pretty clean!
    Sean good on you mate, a great place to work if your into photography in a big way. Should get some good deals.

  15. I nearly had a job at camerhouse once…. but im a lazy bastard! That will be a great learning curve Sean.

Leave a Reply

 
