Stirling Ranges Panorama

stirlings-framed This was taken late in the afternoon on Friday with the other guys on the Stirlings trip. Looks like I could have been all alone except we were huddled around these grass trees together trying to get the best angle. I am going to show how I arrived at this shot on my courses coming up next week. Still a few spots available for Tuesday night if you can make it.

~ by christianfletcher on November 6, 2008.

21 Responses to “Stirling Ranges Panorama”

  1. Wowwww….Its really beautiful….thanks

  2. Hmmmmmm…..not sure about this one, something about the foreground doesn’t quit grab me.

  3. I like it, just need to get a trip down there myself! Well done CF – it’s better than the sheep!

  4. I like it, but as Merv says the foreground isn’t as gripping as some.

    Here’s an interesting question. How do you make a work-product like this image stand out from the others who were all crowded in the same general vicinity, at the same time, with the same light and weather, and only (what I would see as) minor positional/focal point changes? I know you have the CF “style” but I see that as more of a “mood” than subject, perhaps I’m wrong, I don’t know, and I’m sure if nothing else that everyone’s framing of the shot, different angles of view and cropping etc is different. It’s just something I grapple with at times – I see a location in other people’s shots, but then try to compare my own feeble attempts up against those and struggle getting something worthwhile.

    PS: when are the videos coming? šŸ˜‰

  5. PPS: I love the 3-d framing on this one, nice drop-shadows etc, quite effective!

  6. Very nice, the Xanthorrea’s over there are awesome.
    Great capture, especially with the fog/cloud, as that can blow out really easy.

  7. yeah I know what you mean Merv, when I looked i thought the same. something didn’t agree with me in the foreground. i’m not sure what yet though…. will have to have another look later on I think. may be something to do with it being a fair bit brighter then the mountain.
    will see if another look will help me decide šŸ™‚

    gota love the clouds in that region, the mountains really never look the same with them. sometimes huge clouds reaching up from the range. other times they trickle over the summit’s.

  8. Hey Fat guts, just returned from Cradle and seen that I’ve won yet again – THE OLD BLOG IS BACK!

    YEAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!

    See, told you. I’m right, you’re wrong.

    When are you going to listen to me Fletch?? You could go somewhere you know!

  9. Thanks for all the comments, Michael is working on a video at the moment, will have something soon.

  10. Love the tones of greens used in this one.

  11. thanks Mel

  12. ??????? Tommy P

  13. Great image Christian, love the tones in the sky. Superb

  14. Love the light and tones and colour in the cloud and the ranges, classic Christian! Not all that keen on that green colour in the foreground though but it’s better than sheep šŸ™‚

  15. Great panoramic! I actually really like the foreground!

  16. Thanks Damien and Anne you are always welcome back. Flemming I think it needs a sheep in the foreground.

  17. Looks awesome printed.

  18. woohoo landscapes! haha really like this, thinking of heading for dunsborough tomorow for some shots.

  19. Looks great… Has that Noblex look to it. (Thats a film camera for you digital kids). Those Black Boys or being politically correct “Grass Trees” really work. Thumbs up from me and I liked the sheep shots. Dont what that says about me šŸ™‚

  20. Thanks blokes. There are a few guys in Dunsborough this weekend getting photos Will. Matt the Noblex has nobs on it. Thanks for the comment mate, glad you like it. It does look better printed. It says your a closet Kiwi Matt, or a sheep herder, or just like the feel of wool!

  21. Great work Christian ,
    Look awesome , Love the colors and especially the black boys in the shot

Leave a Reply

 
