Resizing images for ASP 2

Hi all, well it seems the video is dodgy, gee I wish I knew more about this web stuff. Anyway the video is on Vimeo but it has no sound. If you go to the page it is on in vimeo here and then scroll down to click on the link that says “Download Quicktime Version” it should work fine. Delete it off your computer when you have finished. Fingers crossed!! I will email everyone the actions today, so if you don’t get it remind me. If you follow the instructions it isn’t hard to do this. Now some questions to answer from Dave.

– If we submit a photo to ASP do you expect to have exclusive rights to it as a stock image? No, you can use your images for what ever you want. This is just another way to make money on your work and getting it out to a wider audience. You can remove it from the site anytime you want. I won’t be making you hand over all rights to ASP. You also retain the high res file for your security, all we will ask is for you to send the file to our client, most likely by FTP.
– What file size do you need the images to be? The images you supply to us only need be small versions for our website. The sizes are as per the video tutorial.
– Do you have a minimum quality in mind (ie would images from a 6MP DSLR be acceptable ?) No, we don’t want any files that are under say 20mb. It needs to be able to reproduce as an A4 size @ 300dpi minimum. We will need to know the size of the image when you submit it.
– How much post processing will you accept, i.e. are you looking for images pretty much straight from the camera or doesn’t it matter? We want images that are worked ready to go that are in RGB. The photoshopping must be of a high quality and only images that meet our strict requirements will get in.

What I want to achieve from this collaboration with other photographers is a Stock Website that will blow others out of the water. I want images that show the best that Australia and the rest of the world have to offer. Together we can all promote this new site to our friends, family, businesses, web designers, graphic artists, etc etc.The exposure your images will get across the world will be fantastic. It is just another way to lift your profile and ranking in the photographic world. By being accepted as a contributor to ASP you will be recognised as a photographer of merit and other work will flow from this.

Another important point is how you will label your files. I am thinking each photographer will need to add his initials to the beginning of the file name i.e. DC_f003X.tif , the DC standing for Dave Catley. We need every file name to be unique. Your name will appear under your images when they are opened from the thumbnail and people will be able to search for your images by typing your name into the search section. You will also be able to see all the images you have contributed to the site by using this personal link http://www.australiastockphotos.com/search/christian fletcher/

obviously you enter your own name in not mine. You can add this to your webpage, your blog, under every email you send out etc, If we can all talk this site up we will all benefit in the end.

Another thought I had was to make all your images available for sale to the masses. This is something that could work very well as we sell images from our stock site as decor prints all the time. We would take a cut of the sale and would print and post your order with very little work needed to be done by yourself. This is still an idea and would like to here everyones thoughts on it.

Keep an eye on your mail for the actions. Will also need to email out a application form to join the site and have all your details on file.

~ by christianfletcher on April 22, 2009.

20 Responses to “Resizing images for ASP 2”

  1. Knowing more about IT is not always a good thing, I’ve just spent the whole morning rebuilding our server just so we can get email again, grrrrr…

  2. I have received and installed the actions file. I assume you are asking us to just run the sharpen and sat for web action and resize for web 1000px ?

    I have one more small question. Submissions after application. Now not so I/we bug you day and night do you have some guidelines to number of submissions and how often. Only speaking from my workflow I would look at submissions of 100-200 every 2-3 months. Would you prefer this or as they come as they get submitted. I am thinking about a time factor on CF WORLDWIDE INC. You could be spending a shit load of time each day with submissions. Whereas you could suggest a time period each month etc that submissions are accepted giving you the remaining time for FREEDOM 😉

    Cheers

    Spool Photography Inc

  3. Hi Christian, thanks for answering my questions and just in case you were getting bored here are a few more …

    – What format / size do you want images submitted for approval in?
    – How should we submit images for approval, CD / Email / Online Web Galleries / continuous stream of pixels straight to your pc 🙂 ?
    – How often should we / can we submit images for approval (stole this one from Neal)?
    – How do you want images categorised, just by location or do you want other keywords as well?
    – Do you want anything specific in the Metadata like location, keywords, copyright notice, …?
    – How soon before you want to employ someone just to evaluate potential stock images 😉

    Hope I’m not being too much of a pain, just thinking of what I need to know to start submitting images.

  4. 100-200 images every 2-3 months Neil… your a machine.

  5. Tons of time on my hands Matt … Business runs itself

  6. Neil I would have thought 100-200 a year would have been way over the top, a huge effort. This means you should be posting at least 3 a day on your blog and that would be a giggle.

    It won’t take long to get a million images if every one gets near that. I think after the initial burst people will post maybe 1-2 a month, i could be wrong.

    …….also Neil , can I swap my business for yours (:

  7. Hi christian & bloggers. Before I begin my slight query for you guy’s & girl’s and which Christian may have over looked, I live in England (so sadly, can’t join the ASP) but view this sight everyday. An excellent website may I add Christian. Although your intial website hasn’t changed for a few years now. You seem to concentrate more on your blog.

    Here’s my slight query on behalf of you guy’s (& girls):

    I know most of you photograph landscapes (after all that’s what ASP is mainly about) but somewhere in an earlier blog someone mentioned about having people in the image. Now here in the UK (not sure if this applies to the rest of the world), If you can see a clear image of someones face in your image then you require that person to sign a ‘model release form’. That way they can not ask for royalties from your image. What is your thought on this Christian? a part from the banning of photographing people. Hope this helps some of you bloggers and Christian to at least fine tune your rights as a photographer. Think yourself’s lucky. Photographers in the UK are being hassled by the police under the terrorism act for taking city photos outside. Good luck with it all. It’s amazing what Christian will do for a few more beers isn’t it.

  8. Christian ..my first thoughts on selling our prints is, one thing at a time.
    I would be careful that it is not going to turn into a large mass produced machine and not have that personal touch and the uniqueness that individuals own sites have if you see what I mean .

    As I said this is just my first thought’s as you asked for feedback and we would need to see how the idea pans out.

  9. Can not swap businesses Merv sorry, but businesses are always for sale. Pretty much all that gets posted on the blogs are stitches. I still take a ton of single frame scenes and have quite a back log I could process over time. I shoot a ton of frames when I shoot and am usually bouncing all over the place trying out several POV, so maybe thats why I end up with a lot of images that maybe of use for this project.

  10. Yep I’m hearin you Neil, I take heaps as well but don’t think many would make the cut for this project . But i must have a couple out of the 30,000 images ( give or take a couple) that I have.

    But i’m not lookin for em tonight.

  11. Flectch, I think that is a brilliant idea, to sell stock as prints as well. Hi Merv, you don’t know me, but just in response, I think the idea is that it is just an option so people can buy prints from the site, nothing wrong with that, and Fletch takes his bit and we could make some extra spinoola if people want to buy that way.

    Stock photos should be the photos that are top quality but not the ones currently on your website, your current classics. If you found something in your own web stock was not moving but was a quality photo that might sneek past the CF ASP gatekeepers, then it is another way of still having an image up for sale. With the net, we are talking would wide audience, so bring it on. You could have them on both, but you would be best keeping your web unique, so no pricing clashes would occur.
    Cheers
    Craig Chiswell

  12. hi neal, don’t use the resize for web action. All resizing should be done through the dr browns script. I need three thumbs of each image. Check the video it is all in that. The only thing I forgot to mention is the regular format images have a medium thumb size of 472 pix wide or high. As for how many and how often, I would say bring it on any time any where.

  13. This is all very very interesting fellas… but my blog is still being posted on, and seems to have died…. check it out cause I will be out walking and shooting in a matter of weeks! So get ready for more!
    (Im back to having to advertise on your blog mate! Sorry!)

  14. Sounds good … Where do we down load the application form ?

  15. Hi Tony, yes we need to get model releases on all photos clearly identifying a person. I will be making sure this happens before those images go on the site. In the end it will be the photographers responsibility not mine and in the end I won’t be held responsible if someone decides to sue!! That will be in the T&C’s and signed off by th photographer so if anyone wants to upload a pic of a human get a MODEL RELEASE FORM SIGNED.

    Tony, you are free to submit any images for approval, I want this site to be global. P.s. I had decided to give up alcohol!! No time to drink when there is a world to conquer!!

    Merv it can still be massive and personal at the same time, look at Westnet, their customer service is brilliant.

    Chizzy thanks for your comments. This site I am hoping will have a huge audience around the world eventually as you mentioned. If your photos are there for people to buy in any shape of form it can only be a good thing. I don’t want it to have Hundreds of thousands of hits a year I want millions! And the best thing is it just about costs nothing to do.

  16. Dylan, that is a blatant misuse of Christian’s Blog, but while we’re at it I’ve begun posting on my blog again and seem to have the same problem …

    Of course now we’re all working together on ASP cross-advertising is very important 😉

  17. Neal the application form is coming, so is christmas, I’ll be on to it tonight.

    Everybody check out two hot looking blokes and their blogs, Dylan and Dave, see above posts!!! You are right Dave the more we cross pollinate the better it is for ASP and everyone.

  18. haha cheers Dave & Fletch!

  19. Yes I’m with you all on the how big this could turn out, and how it could work for everyone, me included. What I said was purely a thought that I had , not a hard and fast statement.

    While I’m at it I might as well tell everyone to check my blog as well. (:

    P.S. Fletch……I’m not giving up the drink for this !!!!!

  20. Merv you need commitment and will power

Leave a Reply

 
