What do you do when the sunset is average???

jetty Daydream Wait for the twilight and do some Brent Pearson inspired night photography. The sunrises and sunsets have been very average in the past week so I have had to resort to desperate measures, hence the night shots. The 5D2 loves to go out at night, she is a real party girl, just don’t wear her out too quick, her batteries are a little lacking in stamina!!

~ by christianfletcher on June 6, 2009.

17 Responses to “What do you do when the sunset is average???”

  1. Nothing like holding a fluzee in ya hands after dark CF
    Adrian

  2. Nice image Fletch, was it a long exposure or multiple images blended together?

  3. Love the detail in the rope and you improvisation.

  4. Love the detail in the rope and your improvisation.

  5. Ah yes, I know that particular rope rather well! Nice shot of the Mermaids, I have been meaning to get a good shot of them for a while. Have just spent some time in Bunbury, now know why you get some great images here. The light and landscape are awesome! I’m coming back! Hope you are enjoying the Whitsundays.

  6. I totally love the colours and detail in this shot Christian. I’m really enjoying following your eastern states trip (totally jealous!) The sights over there look amazing. Keep on keepin on πŸ™‚

  7. Really liking this one Christian. Is that your rope arrangement? Very nice.
    I want to get out and shoot some nightscapes, but the bears n cougars around here have me shitting my pants.

  8. I really like this one. It’s almost a lesson in leading lines and composition but I keep going back to look at the sharp detail in the rope.

    So do all these night shots mean you’re sleeping in and giving the dawn shots the big flick for a while?

  9. i usually think about Tom Putt when the sunset’s no good! I thought you did that too Fletch???

  10. Hi Christian,
    I’m wondering which lens you use for your panos, I’m thinking it might be the 50mm, taking 4 or 5 images and stiching, also do you use photomerge in CS4 or something different, also is it critical to have a tripod head that keeps the horizontal exact ?
    I’m mainly using a Linhof, and want to shoot more digital, I have a 5D 11 and very happy with it.
    Many Thanks
    Cheers
    Jim

  11. I’m hearing ya Adrian.
    long exposure Matt, One image taken when it was getting pretty dark.
    Tim the Whitsundays are magic.
    Norelle this trip isn’t all beer and skittles I can tell you. Pretty knackered actually. Kids make it interesting but Jen has been great to give me some freedom to work.
    Luke didn’t tough the rope it was positioned perfectly for me by the deckhands!!
    Muzz Dawn till Dusk buddy, it is work work work.
    Anon Putty is the last thing on my mind, however when I get bad light I usually blame him!!!
    Jim, I use the 50mm f/1.2 and stitch using PT GUi. Give film the flick mate. The camera is free after about 700 good shots with digital. Film on the Linhof with processing must be costing you $5 per shot easily.

  12. Nice one Christian
    Look forward to taking you out on some fun night shoots when you get down our way. Took Peter E. out on Saturday night for some light painting, I know he enjoyed the wine and cheese part of it… that’s for sure… Made some comment about making sure I take you out when the tide is high and the waves are crashing!!! πŸ˜‰

    BP

  13. Nice one Brent. Old Pete, how did he manage to get down those cliff faces! I’m not scared of big waves, as long as they are on TV. See you soon mate.

  14. When you’re a local you know how to do it. Just make sure you take some leather soled shoes (or for you, leather souled) – that should give you plenty of grip on the slippery rock faces!

  15. Wait till you see what Rod Thomas will email you, some awesome painting with light shots (not really, Brent Pearson can rest easy) from Cape Leveque – these shots will blow your mind or at least give you a good laugh πŸ˜€

  16. thanks for the tip Pete. Maybe we can try these shoes out together.

    Flemming the amazing night painting shots are on the blog now.

  17. Hmmm, I thought that Mr Eastway seemed like I nice chap – trust CF to bring out his nasty side πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

 
