New Canon 17mm TS

17mm_24mmTS

Seems my Nikon post has ruffled a few feathers at Canon. To make it up to them I want to talk about the new 17mm TS that I purchased from Team Digital in Perth. I hope Nikon have had a look at this lens as it is amazing. I have been blown away by its sharpness and it was evident when in live view at 10x magnification. I have the 50mm f/1.2 and the 85mm f1.2 and they are awesome lenses but this is better again. It is a weird looking bit of kit with a bulbous front element and bloody scary to use as that bit of glass can scrape on anything so easily. Don’t know if there is a lens hood for it but I think it needs one. Maybe someone from Canon could enlighten us. The images I have are so sharp and will post some as I get a chance, I am in crisis mode or is that suck up mode. Still a little bit of controversy earned me 36,000 hits on the blog in under two weeks and a few people to take notice. Sorry Canon you still make bloody good gear, if you have any news you want to spread let me know!!
Also a big thanks to Ben at team digital for letting us use two TS lenses to help make our minds up to get one. Cheers buddy, and thanks for the great service!! 😉

~ by christianfletcher on September 14, 2009.

11 Responses to “New Canon 17mm TS”

  1. To quote Canon: “There is no hood available for the TS-E 17mm f/4L, since a hood is incompatible with covering the full tilt range.”

    See: http://www.canon.com/camera-museum/tech/report/200907/200907.html

  2. Look very much forward to seeing results, I am seriously considering getting this lens.

    Did you shoot any panos with it using the shift ?

  3. Whoa, thats the expensive of the two. Is there any distortion with the lens?

  4. Yeah a nice lens – been thinking about selling my children off so that I can afford one.

    Lens hood and lens cap discussion can be found at http://www.canon.com/camera-museum/tech/report/200907/200907.html

    Also an interesting review at http://www.the-digital-picture.com/Reviews/Canon-TS-E-17mm-f-4-L-Tilt-Shift-Lens-Review.aspx

    Rob

  5. I understand the tilt shift use, but what do hope to get out of it?

  6. Rob, thanks for those links, that Digital Picture review is fantastic!!!! Love the examples on that site.

    Merv, for landscapes the two most obvious uses would be:

    1) Everything in focus, from behind the camera to infinity, view camera style by shifting the focus plane. Unlimited depth of field

    2) Perfect panoramas using the shift feature !

  7. Nice Christian! I just recieved mine on thursday, very nice bit of kit! think i will be using it alot.

  8. I did see an example of a landscape shot with this lens on another site but the edges where quite distorted and far from perfect so I was wondering about its use s a landscape lens.

  9. Guess putting a filter kit on that 17mm is out of the question. Looking forward to seeing the shots you get from that lens with the obvious Fletcher creativity and look to them.

  10. Looks like fun!!!

  11. Sweet. One day I’ll have enough money for a TS.

Leave a Reply

 
