Pithara Bowling Club

bowling club

Ok so I did make the guys wait around whilst I took this pic. It was pretty unique, and summed up this dying town. It was pretty sad really and as a business person I know how hard it is to make ends meet. I feel for anyone who has to loose something they have worked hard for. Such is life, and as Malcolm Fraser said “it wasn’t meant to be easy”
Is it a good shot? well it isn’t bad, will it sell, no way!!!! Still I enjoyed taking it so who cares, this one is for me. Wow I’m starting to sound like an artist!!

~ by christianfletcher on October 4, 2009.

16 Responses to “Pithara Bowling Club”

  1. And Me ! …. Geez the place does look run down now, A good image that shows just how it is .
    Cheers Pete.

  2. Hey just had another look, gotta love the lights still hanging in there.

  3. I do like it, especially the colours. Too bad the lights aren’t turned on though πŸ™‚ aaaahhhh you can’t have everything can you?

  4. I like it and it captures the feeling well of “Lost dreams”. Certainly been a while since a lawn bowl has made its way under those lights.

  5. A yep from me .

    That;s the place alright and far from it’s glory days. As Pete said that was a real neat Bowling club in it’s day and was a stand out whenever we went past.

  6. A bit of tumble weed built up at the door would complete it.
    Just need an drive in picture theatre to go with this shot now.

  7. Starting to sound like Larry Mitchell. πŸ™‚ I think he was so right in saying that you have to keep doing personal projects otherwise you lose interest. When you going to start drawing again? πŸ™‚

  8. Neat little image CF …. Love the thin power lines to the lights gives it an almost 50’s drive-in feel … love the treatment, cool subject matter most would drive right by …

    Its all personal projects if it wasn’t the passion would be lost …

  9. I wasn’t sure what to expect but I like it.

  10. well worth making them wait I reckon.
    i like it too, tells a real story.

  11. Nice image, the lights give it a lot of atmosphere!

  12. nice treatment, love abandon places.

  13. Well only the master could make something of that shot…I didn’t even get out of the car!!!

    So, yes indeed mate you did make something of the shot for sure, but as you say…will it sell…no way…but maybe we could class it as a fine art shot πŸ™‚

    Cheers,

    Mark

  14. nicely seen, I love shots of old run down places there always very nostalgic! I am sure there might be an timer out there who might want this on their wall, it might remind them of those lost afternoons drinking with their buddies.

  15. These sort’s of images need to be taken to record the history if nothing else. A very nice piece of work Mr Fletcher, looks like your image will outlive the bowling club itself.

Leave a Reply

 
