Tone Mapping

vineyard workers HDR tone mapping photomatix hdr

I have been bitten by the HDR bug, I mean everything can’t be Australian Landscapes, there has to be some people in there too. This is an image tone mapped in Photoshop thanks to the Photomatix plugin that comes with photomatix. This was a single image and it sort of came out how I wanted, that gritty illustrated look. I obviously have done some work in photoshop to further stylize the image. I plan on learning everything there is to know about Photomatix and will be making that my subject for the workshop on True North.

On that subject I hope you have booked. The last I heard there was only 30 spots left.

~ by christianfletcher on November 12, 2009.

17 Responses to “Tone Mapping”

  1. Good image CF. I like the arty gritty sort of look. Works really well on this sort of subject, it’s the sort of picture you might expect to see in the fashion shop.

    All booked for the Australia day adventure, should be a great day.

  2. Pretty cool CF, I quite like the composition in this image. Something a bit left field maybe ???.
    I have just posted one of my portrait style HDR shots on my blog, Love to hear your thoughts.

  3. Looks good, could have passed off as a fashion shoot with man models rather than vineyard workers. Have you tried doing a 3 shot HDR instead of the 1 image? Wonder if you will get better contrast / detail that way?

  4. Cool. nice picture.

  5. Nice one Christian, not a huge fan of HDR myself, a lot of them look weird to me.
    Looks like you have got it sussed though, I think to get the best out of it the lighting has a big influence.
    Have fun with it, look forward to see what you do with it!

    Tim

  6. It’s a cool look – could be a band photo. Looking forward to your talk – I’ve tried this on a few single images and they all look like absolute $hite. Then again, you can’t make a silk purse out of a sow’s ear.

  7. I thinks its a great powerful image Christian! Good job.

  8. Tick! I like it CF

  9. Fantastic images and a great blog Christian.

    I’ve added you to my links.. I’ll be coming back.

    Mike

  10. niiiice! thought it was you bagging HDR a while ago though…?

  11. I’m going to have to go back to the drawing board with this program as I’ve never had much luck with it.

    Pete Hodgson has some good results with Photomatrix.

  12. One of your best.

  13. I had a play with HDR a while ago but didn’t get too far. It takes something like this to pull the choke out and get me started on a new learning curve. Looks like a late night in front of youtube again. Will compare notes on the True North. Images to follow …. maybe …

  14. thanks for the comments fellas, look forward to some of your work Grant, and yes I hope to be full bottle on this program before the True North gig. p.s. the torch is a cracker, thanks so much for that!

  15. I use that torch all the time. You can use it on the bright setting to see where you are going then switch to the low setting to look at the camera settings without blinding you. I’m glad you like it. If anyone else wants one I sell them at my day job residence at http://www.carstereo.com.au They retail for $139 but will do them at staff cost for $100 to any blogger who would like one.

  16. Excellent torches, I think everyone who takes photos should have one Grant. There you have it guys a great price on a awesome product. It feel like a solid mother, and something that won’t break after the first use.

  17. Sweet image mate!

    Your Bro is on his way home and should be there soon. He is feeling much better today!

    Cheers,

    Mark

Leave a Reply

 
