The New D3s is out now

Team Digital now have the Nikon D3s in stock. We are told that the Nikon D3s not only has video, but also has a number improvement on the previous Nikon D3 which could make this camera a class leader. Benny is getting me the D3s for the weekend, this will be my first chance to shoot with a Nikon after starting with one 20 years ago. Could it mean I will stop flying the Canon flag, we will see. I must say I am pretty excited to have a crack at this camera, more so than the 7D. I think the hi iso capability is the key. Now the 1D mark IV will be exciting too but that won’t be out till December. Also the boys will be receiving the new Nikon 70-200 F2.8 VRII which promises to set a new standard in lens quality. I love my 70-200 Canon lens, this would be one to have in your kit.

And best of all Nikon have reduced the prices on a number of lenses and cameras.
Nikon D3X body $ 10990.00
Nikon D700 Body $ 3695.00
Nikon D300s Body $ 2299.00
AF-S 12-24mm f4G DX IF-ED $ 1530.00
AF-S DX 10-24mm f/3.5-4.5G ED $ 1415.00
AF-S 14-24mm f2.8 LENS $ 2250.00
AF-S 24-70mm f2.8 LENS $ 2250.00
AF-S Micro-Nikkor 60mm f2.8ED $ 720.00
AF-S Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED VR $ 1260.00

Thanks to Benny for the scoop on this new gear and pricing. For more info check out the Team Digital Blog

~ by christianfletcher on November 25, 2009.

13 Responses to “The New D3s is out now”

  1. Good stuff Christian. Look I love my D2Xs but its an old horse now. Really for everything I do its fine, until I mount the 600mm to it. You NEED high ISO. If one is keen for small birds and things in the scrub well 50th or 60th second is way to slow, need that high end ISO for sure.

    Be very interested in your comments for sure.

    I am up North next couple of weeks to fill a few compact flash cards!

    Cheers

    David

  2. nikon sucks!!

  3. Not to hijack a Nikon thread but there are some images from a beta 1DIV here: http://jeffascough.typepad.com/jeff_ascough_blog/2009/11/canon-1dmkiv-at-a-wedding.html I know you’re itching to do a wedding Fletch so it would be a good excuse to get your hands on one of these.

  4. Come on guys, show a bit of respect to Nikon, especially you young Stakky!!! (Proud Nikon user here). I can’t wait to have a crack at the D3s, as I currently use a D3 which is awesome. I’m sure Chrstian will give an extremely professional, unbiased review on this camera…..wont you CF!!
    I’m keen to see the images from the D3 & D3s side by side.

  5. Yeah what Jamie said!

    Lets not get into a flame fest here.

    But really they are all good gear, and hey after we have pulled the living crap out of the images in PS what is left from the camera file anyway???

  6. I think the amount you invest in lenses with a brand is a serious factor to consider if you decide to jump ship. Hate to even think what your investment in canon lenses would be Fletch and then having to buy the equivalent in Nikon. Ouch.

  7. When I see the quality of shots Luke Austin is producing in Canada, I think it is worth exploring.

  8. Thanks for the tip Christian. Looking forward to your take on the D3s.

  9. Yeeehah This is great news, i can’t for your review CF so had best just come with you on the weekend and give it a crack for myself. I have got a pretty complete set of pro lens’s that give this baby a real workout. Whadayou reckon.

  10. I was frothing at the mouth looking at the Phase One puppies online earlier this … WAY WAY beyond my reach, but something to work towards I guess …

  11. I think this camera is going to be a lot of fun especially hand holding around a city at night. I am hoping to go to Perth with my wife for a romantic getaway next weekend, thats when I will get a hold of the camera. I would love to have all you guys come with me to have a play but it is supposed to be a romantic weekender, the wife might not like it too much. As it is she will have to share me with the new girl Nikki D3s, that could be a problem later in the night when she wants to share our pillow!!!
    Still it is every mans fantasy, two girls in the bed together, even if one of them is made out of cold hard stuff, and I’m talking about my wife here he he. Honey if you read this I’m only joking!!! Really!!!

  12. I think you just blew it CF, ….. I can understand not wanting anyone else around for your romantic weekend. Don’t forget to turn the HD video off when you go to bed ah !! We don’t need to see any kinky stuff , I don’t care how good the ISO is.

  13. Maybe you and your wife could make beautiful music together on your Canon/Nikon weekend like JoeyL did: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H_H8TOKcfjg

    Maybe a bit of Cog influence is more your style.

Leave a Reply

 
