New growth

This was a tree I photographed recently when doing a commercial job for Wulura, a large property here in the Southwest. It really stood out with the great backlighting making the leaves pop! I used one of my favourite lenses the 400mm f/5.6 and cropped in close on the detail. This came up beautifully on the new Epson 9900 with the HDR inks. I love my Epson and the good news is the new rip is available for it so I will let you all know how good it is when I get it.

~ by christianfletcher on November 30, 2009.

9 Responses to “New growth”

  1. Good to see you are still using the 400mm. Great colours and lighting

  2. Nice image Christian!

  3. Great shot Fletch… I love these kind of images and you have a good eye for finding them. Hoping to have the 400mm f5.6 in my kit early in the new year.

  4. (said in a thick Russian accent) “Oh Christian, you are such a hunky man! Your photos are wonderful and your hair is so thick and whispy. I love your blog.”

  5. thanks guys it is my girlie side poking through the tough exterior!
    Matt the 400 gee is one of my favs. It makes shooting from the car window a breeze!!!

    Tommy Puttinski, you are so wrong, oh and BTW the golden (grey) locks have been cut completely off. I am now officially looking like a neo Nazi.

  6. Great shot… Did you use any filters for this shot? Also which 400mm lens do you have?

  7. no filters Luke and the 400 f/5.6 is the L series, probably the ugliest lens on the planet but is pretty sharp and easy to use.

  8. Yes I have the 400 f/5.6 its a fantastic lens!! great shot Christian!!

  9. Christian
    Can I ask you why in this instance did you use the 400mm to take this shot.Was there a crocodile filled billabong that prevented you from getting closer[just joking] and using any other of your arsenal of lenses that could have still been used to achieve the same result? Just curious! Phil

Leave a Reply

 
